16
Apr
09

Quiznos’ Blatant Subliminal Advertising

One my way home from my delicious sushi dinner, I drove past a billboard advertising Quiznos’ latest product “The Torpedo.” The billboard was simple: an image of the sandwich next to a cup of coffee. One line of unreadable text above with a clear and visible $4. The message is easily understood…or is it?

Quizno's Torpedo

I couldn’t find an image of the billboard, so above I’ve placed an image of the sandwich itself. Take a good look at it. Look familiar? Take a step back and blur your eyes a bit (like looking at a magic eye picture). How about now? Remind you of a lit cigarette maybe, a classic Marlboro? Kind of does, doesn’t it.

That is some messed up S***!

Now place that very same sandwich next to a hot cup of “All-American” Joe. Even more messed up, huh? I’d say this is a very powerful statement Quizno’s is trying to make, especially with the smoking bans all over the land. I wonder how they profit margin is doing with this new sandwich?

4 Responses to “Quiznos’ Blatant Subliminal Advertising”


  1. May 6, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Hi, nice post. I have been wondering about this topic,so thanks for sharing. I’ll certainly be coming back to your site. Keep up great writing

  2. November 17, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Heh. I referenced this blog post in a recent post of my own. Interesting observations about this ad… but I had a slightly different take: http://wp.me/pwqzc-18

  3. January 28, 2015 at 6:27 pm

    Undeniably believe that that you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the net the
    easiest factor to understand of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed even as people consider concerns that
    they plainly don’t recognise about. You managed to hit the nail upon the highest as neatly as defined out the whole thing without having
    side effect , other people could take a signal.
    Will likely be again to get more. Thanks


Leave a Reply

History

Pages

Tweet Me baby!

Wordworker

Rena Prizant is a top professional copywriter in Chicago. Find Advertising Copywriters like Rena on WordWorker.com.